Congratulating Wildcat Excellence Award Winners

The annual Wildcat Excellence Awards recognizes and honors the outstanding achievements of students, student organizations, and their advisors. On June 2, 2016, many worthy recipients were recognized for excellence in leadership, community and service in the Northwestern community.

Seven seniors received The Rock Distinguished Contribution Award for their outstanding leadership in the campus community, empowering others and demonstrating strong convictions. 

Eliza Abramson for her work with Mayfest, A&O, and as an ASG account executive
Kevin Harris for his work as a two term ASG Vice President for Community Relations and Dance Marathon Executive Co-Chair
Brad McCandless for his two terms on the Interfraternity Council Executive Board, Dance Marathon, Homecoming, and GreekBuild
Catharine McCarter for her work developing Campus Language Connections and her leadership with Wildroots and Northwestern Yearbook
Kenny Mok for his work as ASG Vice President for B-status finances, Outreach Chair for Midwest Asian American Students Union (MAASU) and Asian Pacific American Coalition
Brandon Nadig for excellence in the arts as StuCo Executive Board member and his work with The Dolphin Show, Jewish Theatre Ensemble, and Dance Marathon
Angie Ross for her involvement with Zeta Phi Beta, Sorority, Inc. and the National Pan-Hellenic Council

Two outstanding upperclassmen received the Contributing Student Leader Award for their contributions within an organization while not holding an executive role.

Sierra Boone for her work within the National Association of Black Journalists and Blackboard
Kevin Luong for his contributions to Asian Pacific American Coalition and the establishment of the Asian American Studies Major

The Emerging Leader Award recognized two first or second year students demonstrating outstanding leadership potential.

Ben Powell for his work within ASG as a Senator and member of the Rules Committee and the Executive Board Selection Committee
Michelle Sanders for her engagement with Engage Chicago, Black Lives Matter NU, Center for Civic Engagement, and UnShackleNU

Groups that built a relationship to benefit a common cause were recognized for Outstanding Innovative Collaboration.  

End the “R” Word Week, a collaboration between Northwestern to Benefit Special Olympics, Brady Scholars, Academy of Music and Arts for Special Education, Best Buddies, and Autism Speaks focused on changing perceptions within the community surrounding ability

Outstanding Community Service Event

NU Gives Back for their work engaging 330 student volunteers with service sites within the Evanston and Chicago communities, particularly focused on poverty related issues

Outstanding On-Going Community Service Program

Jumpstart for their volunteer program coordinating 30 student volunteers to help children from low-income neighborhoods develop the language and literacy skills and close the achievement gap, leading to 300 hours of serve annually. 

The Outstanding Social Justice Initiative awards an organization committed to creative a more engaged and inclusive campus through meaningful programming and initiatives.

Fight for Freedom for their work raising awareness about human trafficking and modern-day slavery and their engagement in conversations about corporate social responsibility

Productions were recognized for their artistic value and cultural contribution to the campus performing arts scene in the Outstanding Theatrical Performance and the Outstanding Performing Arts Production awards.

Theatrical: Lipstick Theater’s For Colored Girls, a play featuring a group of Black women who told personal stories of pain, joy, sorrow and violence and for the activism demonstrated by the cast
Performing Arts: Alice Millar Chapel Choir for the Alice Millar Birthday Concert featuring music from Haydn's Dixit Dominus, Poulenc's Concerto for Organ, & Still's Ennanga

Outstanding Graduate Student Organization

Colloquium on Indigeneity and Native American Studies for their work promoting conversations on indigeneity and Indigenous populations in the Americas and the transnational imaginary on campus

Outstanding New Student Organization

St. Baldrick’s for their first time fundraising event that educated attendees about pediatric cancer research, engaged 26 shavees, and raising over $10,500

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Organization

Sigma Psi Zeta Sorority, Inc. for their work promoting awareness of the Asian/Asian American culture and heritage through cultural, social, educational, and community service activities, advocating for women’s rights and combating the violence against women, and for their fundraising efforts
o  Inaugural year of their Athena scholarship
o    Domestic Violence Awareness Month programming
o    Partnership for Dance Marathon
o    Healthy Relationship programming with MARS and SHAPE
o    Career panel with AKPsi, SWE, and Phi Delta Epsilon. 
o    Pan-Asian Formal with CSA, TASC, VSA, Kaibigan. 
o    Hosted “But Where Are You REALLY From? A Panel on Being Asian In America,” with several professors on campus. 
o    “Tested Documentary Screening and Q&A” event with director Curtis Chin. 
o    Organized 11 fundraisers and donated $3,750+ to various organizations, more than a 400% increase in donations than the previous year.

An advisor with strong commitment and support for the members and mission of a student organization received the Outstanding Advisor Award.

Doug Medin for his four year long tenure as the advisor to the Native American and Indigenous Student Alliance

For going above and beyond their position at Student Affairs, the Outstanding Student Employee recognizes a student for excellent work, personal conduct and commitment.

Carmen Mackins for her work within Student Affairs Marketing and the office of Student Engagement and formerly with Norris Events Planning

The Outstanding Campus Partner Award identifies a campus faculty or staff member working with Student Affairs on an initiative to improve student life. 

Maria Sanchez (Assistant Athletics Director/Academics and Student Development) for her work with Black Student Experience Committee and her partnership with Multicultural Student Affairs

Dr. Patricia Telles-Irvin selects two students who have worked deeply to improve the Northwestern community for the Vice President's Award.

Kyle Allen-Niesen and Diego Henriquez-Garcia for their work with Global Engagement Summit

View pictures from this year's Wildcat Excellence Awards.