Recipients of Winter 2016 Campus Life Awards

Each quarter, Student Affairs recognizes students who have significantly contributed to engaging the community and enriching the Northwestern University experience. The following students received this recognition winter 2016:

Forrest Bruce
Class of 2016

Forrest is being recognized for his work collaborating across departments, student groups, and local organizations to make Northwestern a more welcoming and inclusive community for Native students. As the co-president of the Native American Indigenous Students Alliance (NAISA), a One Book One Northwestern Fellow, and a member of the Native American Outreach and Inclusion Task Force, Forrest has played a critical role in planning events, assisting with the hiring of Native faculty, and helping to bring awareness to issues surrounding an underrepresented group.

Christina Cilento
Class of 2017

Christina is being recognized for her activism and commitment to sustainability initiatives across campus and the community. As the Vice President for Sustainability in ASG, a student employee in the Office of Sustainability, and an engaged member of Fossil Free NU, Christina has spent her time at Northwestern bringing sustainability and green initiatives to the forefront of campus conversation. Christina was instrumental in the creation of a sustainable events guide and a fund for student organizations to plan and implement “green” events. She has provided students, staff, and faculty with actionable steps that are often both innovative and cost saving. Christina works hard behind the scenes to make the entire campus and world a better place.

Theanne Liu
Social Justice
Class of 2016

Theanne is being recognized for her work as the external president of the Asian Pacific American Coalition (APAC). In this role, Theanne represents APAC’s interests to the larger campus community in ASG, MSA, the Asian American Studies Program, campus media, other student groups, and beyond. Theanne fosters a space for Asian American Pacific Islander sociopolitical activism on campus, with a focus on intersectionality and solidarity. She organized the APIforBlackLives workshop and #MyAsianAmericanStory meeting. She also coordinated Wong Fu
Productions Producer Christine Chen as the APAC Fall Spekaer to discuss the representation of Asian American women in media production. Through APAC’s outreach and publicity, Theanne contributed to a multi-year push for the successful creation of an Asian American Studies Major, which was formally approved in February 2016.

Angie Ross
Class of 2016

Angie is being recognized for her involvement with her sorority, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., the National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC), and the overall fraternity and sorority community. Angie serves as a representative on the Fraternity & Sorority Life Advisory Board, where she
demonstrates exceptional integrity by advocating for her peers. Angie consistently voices concerns with the current system and proposes ample opportunities for change. She plays a
leadership role in implementing NPHC programs and has worked tirelessly to
represent the importance of the black fraternal involvement experience on campus. Angie is a trailblazer and a relationship builder within and across campus communities.

Bria Royal
Class of 2016

Bria is being recognized for her dedication to incorporate and advocate for social justice across campus. Bria is involved with Arts and Music Programs for Education in Detention Centers
(AMPED), a music education program that connects Northwestern students and young men in the Cook County Juvenile Detention Center, as well as Engage Chicago, Global Engagement Studies Institute, the Buffett Institute, UnshackleNU, MEChA, Sigma Lambda Gamma, Peer Inclusion Educators, and more. Bria brings an innovative and impassioned voice that seeks to spread justice and increase opportunities for marginalized groups. For example, Bria brought the Empty Bowls Project to Norris’ ARTica Studios as a way for students to create clay bowls and sell them to raise funds for organizations that address food insecurity.

Sustained Dialogue Leadership Team
Social Justice

The Sustained Dialogue Leadership Team is being recognized for their pursuit of social justice and dedication toward improving the Sustained Dialogue (SD) program, aimed at encouraging conversation across lines of difference amongst students. Over the last year, the leadership team has conducted focus groups with participants who have marginalized identities and implemented
additional moderator trainings to ensure these dialogues remain a brave and equitable space. SD Pop-Ups were also held to increase dialogue opportunities for students not already involved with the program.

  • Xiomara Contreras, Class of 2017
  • Katherine Gladstone, Class of 2016
  • Matthew Herndon, Class of 2017
  • Vicky Ho, Class of 2016
  • Ariana Seals, Class of 2016